2018 Sobey Art Award Longlist

Posted in Bordernews by Border Crossings on April 17 2018

Border Crossings is pleased to share the 2018 Sobey Art Award longlist and wishes all the nominees good luck!

Established in 2002 by the Sobey Art Foundation, the Sobey Art Award aims to promote new developments in contemporary Canadian art and provide opportunities for artists, bringing them national and international attention. A total of $240,000 CAD prize money is awarded: $100,000 to the overall winner, $25,000 to each of the four shortlisted artists, and $2,000 to each of the remaining twenty longlisted artists. In addition, three nominees from the longlist will take part in national and international art residencies funded by the Sobey Art Foundation and the Donald R. Sobey Foundation. This is the first year the Sobey International Residencies’ program is being offered.

The longlist represents 25 artists from all across the country.


Hannah Jickling and Helen Reed

Arvo Leo

Jeneen Frei Njootli

Krista Belle Stewart

Howie Tsui


Joi T. Arcand

Hannah Doerksen

Przemek Pyszczek

Elif Saydam

Couzyn Van Heuvelen


Sameer Farooq

Maggie Groat

Kapwani Kiwanga

Life of a Craphead

Nep Sidhu


Adam Basanta

Sophie Bélair-Clément

Julie Favreau

Yann Pocreau

Jon Rafman


Jordan Bennett

Lisa Lipton

Jerry Ropson

Lou Sheppard

D’Arcy Wilson

The 2018 international jury, chaired by National Gallery of Canada’s Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Josée Drouin-Brisebois, is composed of curators from five designated regions in Canada, as well as one international juror: Heather Igloliorte, Independent Curator and Concordia University Research Chair in Indigenous Art History and Community Engagement, for the Atlantic Provinces; Jean-François Bélisle, Executive Director and Chief Curator, Musée d’art de Joliette, for the Quebec region; November Paynter, Director of Programs, Museum of Contemporary Art Toronto Canada, for the Ontario region; Kristy Trinier, Independent Curator, for the Prairies and the North region; Melanie O’Brian, Director, Simon Fraser University Galleries, for the West Coast and Yukon; and international juror, Séamus Kealy, Director, Salzburger Kunstverein.

The Sobey Art Award’s shortlist of nominees will be announced May 29, 2018. The winner of the Sobey Art Award will be announced at the National Gallery of Canada November 14, 2018.

The work of the five Sobey Art Award finalists will be featured in a special exhibition at the National Gallery of Canada from October 3, 2018 to February 10, 2019. The exhibition of finalists alternates each year between the National Gallery of Canada and other arts institutions across the country.

About the Sobey Art Award

As one of the world’s most prestigious contemporary art prizes, the Sobey Art Award is awarded to a visual artist age 40 and under who has exhibited in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. Presented annually, the award celebrates some of Canada’s most exciting young artists and provides significant financial recognition – a total of $240,000 in prize money, including a top prize of $100,000 for the winner, $25,000 for the four shortlisted finalists, and $2,000 each for the longlisted artists. Past award recipients include Jeremy Shaw, Brian Jungen, Jean-Pierre Gauthier, Annie Pootoogook, Michel de Broin, Tim Lee, David Altmejd, Daniel Barrow, Daniel Young & Christian Giroux, Raphaëlle de Groot, Duane Linklater, Nadia Myre, and Abbas Akhavan. The 2017 Sobey Art Award winner was Ursula Johnson.

About the Sobey Art Foundation

The Sobey Art Foundation was established in 1981 with a mandate to carry on the work of entrepreneur and business leader, the late Frank H. Sobey, to collect and preserve representative examples of 19th- and 20th-century Canadian art. In one of the finest private collections of its kind, the Sobey Art Foundation has assembled outstanding examples from Canadian Masters such as Cornelius Krieghoff, Tom Thomson and J. E. H. MacDonald. The collection is on view in the former home of Frank Sobey and his wife Irene in Pictou County, Nova Scotia.

About the National Gallery of Canada

The National Gallery of Canada is home to the most important collections of historical and contemporary Canadian art. The Gallery also maintains Canada’s premier collection of European Art from the 14th to the 21st centuries, as well as important works of American, Asian and Indigenous Art and renowned international collections of prints, drawings and photographs. In 2015, the National Gallery of Canada established the Canadian Photography Institute, a global multidisciplinary research center dedicated to the history, evolution and future of photography. Created in 1880, the National Gallery of Canada has played a key role in Canadian culture for well over a century. Among its principal missions is to increase access to excellent works of art for all Canadians.

← Previous

Next →